Ethnic Minorities

Whether they have just arrived, or have been living in Hong Kong for several generations, many Nepalese, Pakistanis and Indians face intense social and economic obstacles resulting in segregation, unemployment and poverty. Language and cultural barriers are a large part of the problem but racial discrimination is often the final straw that extinguishes all hope of a better tomorrow. For them even access to basic services can be a major challenge.

A Passion for Change

At Christian Action we're passionate about empowering this vibrant and culturally rich part of our community. We want to see them enjoying access to the full spectrum of services that all Hong Kong residents enjoy, and we want to give them dignity that comes from contributing to the society in which they live. Most of all we want to restore hope in the heart and mind of every member of Hong Kong's ethnic minority community. Hope for employment, hope to master English and Cantonese, and hope that their children will not be relegated to the dregs of society because of their skin color or ethnicity.

How we Help

Thanks to volunteers like you, Christian Action personally serves over 3,000 members of HK's ethnic minority communities each year!

Our committed team of staff and volunteers have a holistic approach that helps to:

  1. Break through the language barrier with ongoing Cantonese and English language classes.
  2. Provide consultation and referral services for social adjustment and welfare planning.
  3. Educate through workshop, vocational training, and career counselling for the unemployed and foster digital integration for all adults and children.
  4. Promote psychosocial health
  5. Organize numerous large public events that bring together an average of 1,000 local residents and ethnic minorities each year!
  6. We have realized the unique needs of women and the elderly in the Ethnic Minority community, so we provide interest classes to women and elderly support groups. Our target members are now more accustomed to social gatherings and they are gradually being trained to be our Ambassadors and serve the community with their cultural strengths.
  7. We play the role of bridging the divide between the Ethnic Minority community and Hong Kong society, by organizing cultural sensitivity trainings.  These trainings help people to understand more about ethnic minority cultures and their lives in Hong Kong, and minimise the gap due to stereotyping and unfamiliarity.

Will YOU join the movement to help Hong Kong's ethnic minorities? Volunteer today!

A More Just Society

"We believe that Hong Kong is at its best when honouring and celebrating the rich diversity of cultures in our community. We are working and praying for the day when ethnic minorities, as legal, permanent residents of Hong Kong, have equal access to their basic rights and receive opportunities for their talents and contributions to be discovered and received without prejudice. Please join us in helping Hong Kong become a more just society."

Mrs. Cheung-Ang Siew Mei

Executive Director, Christian Action

How You Can Help:

Click to donate. Or visit Get Involved for creative ways to plug-in and help!

You are here: Home Our Programs IN Hong Kong Ethnic Minorities

服務少數族裔

不論他們是剛抵達香港,或是數代定居於香港,許多來自尼泊爾、巴基斯坦和印度的人士都面對嚴峻的社會和經濟困境,導致種族歧視,失業和貧困的問題。語言和文化無疑是最主要的障礙,但種族歧視往往剝奪了他們對美好明天的盼望。對他們來說,即使要取得日常的基本需要,亦是一個重大的挑戰。

致力改變

基督教勵行會致力服務這群擁有豐富文化和活力的一群,協助他們提升自強的能力。我們希望他們可以享用到全方位的服務,與全港居民所享有的相同,我們亦希望他們透過為社區作出貢獻,重拾尊嚴。最重要的是,我們希望重燃每位少數族裔心中的盼望,希望他們可以覓得工作,能夠掌握英語和粵語的運用,而他們的孩子不會因自己的膚色或種族,被淪為社會上被遺棄的一群。

怎樣幫助他們

感謝像您一樣的義工,基督教勵行會每年才可以為超過 3,000名少數族裔人士提供服務!

我們的同工和義工目前已為他們全面的協助:

  1. 為求打破語言障礙,不斷舉辦粵語和英語課程,並提供傳譯員陪同他們到醫院和社會福利部門。
  2. 協助解決住屋及福利問題。
  3. 舉辦工作坊,提供職業培訓及就業輔導服務,為失業人士提供指導,並為所有成年人和兒童提供資訊科技技能培訓。
  4. 推廣心理健康
  5. 舉辦無數的大型公眾活動,每年讓一千名本地居民和少數族裔人士相聚在一起!
  6. 就各項政策和服務的改善,與香港政府進行對話。
  7. 我們關注少數族裔女士,婦女和長者的需要,特此安排各類型的興趣及互助小組;現在,我們的服務對象已較以前更為融入社群,並可望成為我們的親善大使,回饋社區。
  8. 為促進香港社區和少數族裔融和,我們舉行不同文化講座,讓更多人了解少數族裔的文化和他們在香港的生活,消除歧視和種種誤解。

您會否加入我們的行列,幫助香港的少數族裔人士?請即登記成為義工

一個更公義的社會

「當我們的社會能尊重多元文化,分享不同民族的豐富文化時,我們相信這就是香港最光輝的時候。我們努力工作和不斷禱告,盼望有一天少數族裔人士可以成為香港合法的永久居民,享有平等的基本權利,在不受歧視的情況下,發揮才能,貢獻社會並獲得認同。請加入我們的行列,讓香港成為一個更公義的社會。」

基督教勵行會總幹事

張洪秀美女士

您如何幫助我們:

請即按此捐款,或瀏覽「您的參與」部份,以具創意的方式支持我們!

.
您目前位置:首頁 我們的工作 在香港 少數族裔