Making Strides to New Lives
Christian Action 3-Legged Charity Walk x F.U.N. Carnival


Returning for the 5th time by popular demand, the 3-Legged Charity Walk, a signature annual event hosted by Christian Action (CA), was successfully held at The Clearwater Bay Golf & Country Club on 25 March 2017 (Saturday). Organised by CA in association with The Clearwater Bay Golf & Country Club, the 3-Legged Charity Walk is a fun, meaningful fundraising event that supports underprivileged children, while encouraging participants to experience the daily impediments of disabled children by finishing a 1.5-hour walk in a “3-legged” manner.

According to Mrs. Cheung-Ang Siew Mei, CA’s Executive Director: “Since CA was established over 30 years ago, we have been serving the most marginalised and neglected communities in society – one of the main groups include underprivileged children, with backgrounds ranging from poor families and new arrival, to ethnic minorities and refugee families. This is why we have added many fresh elements this year – not only to bring you something new, but also to give an opportunity for our service users to showcase their talents, and to allow everyone here to get to know the different lifestyles and cultures.”

Entitled 3-Legged Charity Walk x F.U.N. Carnival, the 2017 event is enriched with an array of carnival games and engaging activities such as African drumming and upcycling workshops, ethnic music and dance performances and bouncy castle, providing a one-of-a-kind, inclusive family experience that promises F.U.N. (Family. Unity. Never-Ending.) for all cultures and ages. Participants had a chance to compete in the timed 3-Legged RunRacing, and were also encouraged to learn about the lives of Hong Kong’s grassroots communities through booths that assimilate sub-divided flats and meals that are under HK$15 versus HK$40 dollars.

Accompanying Mrs. Cheung on stage was Eric, an 18 year-old teenager with cerebral palsy who grew up in CA’s Xining Children’s Home, a welfare home in Qinghai for disabled children. Having arranged to undergo leg correction surgery and rehabilitation in Hong Kong last year, Eric shared: “Learning how to walk was not an easy process, and there are times when I just do not think I can keep going. But I am very grateful for the treatment and surgery CA has arranged for me. I cannot imagine walking on my own before this – now I can at least walk a few steps. I can walk my own path.” Irene Chung, one of the supporters of CA’s Qinghai Programme who also participated in this event said, “Just like Christ did thousands of years ago, CA is touching lives and literally making the lame to walk! It was special to see and hear Eric’s personal sharing. Thanks for including us!”

The funds raised from 3-Legged Charity Walk x F.U.N. Carnival will go towards CA’s work with orphans and disabled children in Qinghai to support individuals like Eric, as well as for needy families in Hong Kong. Christian Action thanks The Clearwater Bay Golf & Country Club for offering their all-round support for running the event by managing the activity & venue arrangement, and providing full financial support for transport, setup, food & beverage, entertainment and performance. During the past 5 years, the event has garnered over 3,400 supporters, with a cumulative amount of nearly HK$2.6M funds raised to support CA’s work.

Event photos & captions:

 3 Legged Photo1 CA’s Executive Director Mrs. Cheung-Ang Siew Mei (centre left) and Mr. Peter Ho, (centre right) Membership Committee Member of The Clearwater Bay Golf & Country Club, cheered for all participants at the 5th annual 3-Legged Charity Walk at the starting line.
3 Legged Photo2 CA’s 3-Legged Charity Walk is a fun, meaningful experiential learning for all ages, encouraging participants to experience the daily impediments of disabled children by finishing a 1.5-hour walk in a “3-legged” manner.
3 Legged Photo3 Eric (centre), an 18 year-old disabled teenager with cerebral palsy who grew up in Xining Children’s Home in Qinghai, shared about his experiences undergoing rehabilitation and surgery arranged by CA.
3 Legged Photo4 Participants competing in the 3-Legged FunRacing timed competition at the 3-Legged Charity Walk x F.U.N. Carnival hosted at The Clearwater Bay Golf & Country Club on 25 March 2017.
3 Legged Photo5 In addition to experiencing impediments of disabled children through the 3-legged walk, participants were encouraged to learn about the lives of Hong Kong’s grassroots communities through a booth that simulates a sub-divided home.
You are here: Home Home Christian Action Uncategorised PR_3Legged201703

您的一小步,是他.她成長的一大步
基督教勵行會2人3足勵同行X親子共融樂滿營


由基督教勵行會舉辦,清水灣鄉村俱樂部全力協辦,萬眾矚目的第五屆2人3足勵同行慈善步行籌款已於2017年3月25日(星期六)在清水灣鄉村俱樂部順利舉行。一直以來,活動為本會弱勢兒童籌募福利服務經費,同時,我們鼓勵參加者以2人3足方式走畢約1.5小時的路程,以體會殘障兒童舉步為艱的情況,是一項極具意義的籌款活動。

本會總幹事張洪秀美女士表示:「基督教勵行會在香港成立30多年,多年來一直服務社會上被邊緣化、被忽略的群體,基層家庭小朋友是我們其中一個主要服務對象,他們來自貧困家庭、新來港家庭、少數族裔家庭、難民家庭等,為了加深大家對他們的認識,我們在今年的活動中加入不少新元素,期望藉此機會,不但為大家帶來新鮮感,同時給予本會服務使用者一展才華的機會,並讓大家認識到各社群不同的生活方式和文化背景。」

2人3足勵同行X親子共融樂滿營節目非常豐富,場內設有一系列攤位遊戲和互動工作坊,例如:非洲鼓表演及工作坊、「升級再造」環保工作坊、少數民族歌舞表演及大型充氣城堡。這個親子、共融及歡樂無窮的嘉年華,為參加者帶來獨一無二、超越年齡界限和跨文化的體驗。參賽者可參加2人3足FunRacing競賽,亦可透過模擬劏房及「今晚食乜餸?$15 vs $40」之膳食體驗,體會本港基層生活。

與張太大起在台上作分享的寧寧,自幼在青海省西寧市兒童福利院長大,現已18歲,因患有腦麻痹症,故在院內接受專為殘障兒童而設的治療。寧寧去年獲安排來港進行腿部矯形手術和復康治療。寧寧分享道:「學習走路並不是一件容易的事,有時候我也覺得自己堅持不下。真的非常感謝基督教勵行會悉心為我安排治療和手術,以前我都不敢想像自己可以走路,現在已可以放手走幾步路,走著走著,彷彿能走出自己的路。」一直支持基督教勵行會青海省社會福利服務的Irene Chung小姐亦有參與是次活動,她表示:「就像耶穌基督千百年來所做的事般,基督教勵行會以生命影響生命,並讓跛子走路!在場見到寧寧,聽到他的分享,是一件很特別的事情。感謝您與我分享!」

2人3足勵同行X親子共融樂滿營所籌得之善款,將全數撥捐本會福利工作,以支援本港貧困家庭及如寧寧般的青海省殘障兒童。基督教勵行會感謝清水灣鄉村俱樂部全力協辦是次活動,包括提供活動及場地統籌、交通費用、餐飲、當天活動設置裝配、工藝坊及表演活動支出。五屆以來,活動累積籌得近260萬港元。

活動花絮及簡介:

 3 Legged Photo1 基督教勵行會總幹事張洪秀美女士(中間偏左) 和清水灣鄉村俱樂部會籍委員會委員何榮照先生(中間偏右) 在2人3足勵同行慈善步行籌款的起步禮上為參加者打氣。
3 Legged Photo2 基督教勵行會2人3足勵同行慈善步行籌款是一個極富意義的學習體驗活動,適合任何人士參與,活動更鼓勵參加者以2人3足方式完成約1.5小時的步行路程,以體會殘障兒童舉步為艱的情況。
3 Legged Photo3 寧寧(中) , 18歲殘障青年,患有腦麻痹症,自由在青海省西寧市兒童福利院成長。基督教勵行會為他安排了手術及康復治療。他正分享是次經歷。
3 Legged Photo4 2人3足勵同行X親子共融樂滿營於2017年3月25日在清水灣鄉村俱樂部舉行。參加者正參與2人3足FunRacing競賽。
3 Legged Photo5 活動除了鼓勵參加者以2人3足方式參與步行籌款,以體驗殘障兒童舉步為艱的情況外,更鼓勵參加者通過體驗模擬劏房,了解本港基層的生活困苦。活動除了鼓勵參加者以2人3足方式參與步行籌款,以體驗殘障兒童舉步為艱的情況外,更鼓勵參加者通過體驗模擬劏房,了解本港基層的生活困苦。