Celebration of International Women’s Day 2017
Commemorating the Acts of Courage and
Determination Among Women Migrant Workers in Hong Kong


In celebration of International Women’s Day 2017, International Organization for Migration (IOM) Hong Kong SAR and Christian Action’s Centre for Migrant Domestic Workers will host a commemorative event with support of honorary guests today (12 March 2017).

Hosted at the New Horizons Building, Christian Action’s headquarters and service centre in Kowloon Bay, the aim of the event is to appreciate and recognise the vital role of women migrant domestic workers and their contributions to Hong Kong society, as well as to promote the rights and protection of those in the community who are vulnerable and at risk of exploitation. The event also provides an opportunity for migrant domestic workers to express and showcase their artistic capabilities through a photography exhibition and talent competition in the presence of Government representatives from Hong Kong, The Philippines, and Indonesia.

Activities and takeaway for guests at the event include free entry to the finale of month-long Migrant Workers Got Talent contest, Women at Work photography competition, as well as cultural performances, food stalls, game booths by migrant organisations aimed at showcasing the cultural diversity of migrant domestic workers in Hong Kong.

International Women’s Day (IWD) falls on 8 March every year as a global day celebrating the social, economic, cultural and political achievements of women. Since the early 1900, IWD is commemorated to accelerate gender parity, particularly in work space, through celebration, reflection, advocacy, and tangible action. Despite global progress and attitudinal shift in approaching women’s equality and emancipation, there remains much work to be done.

Mr. Justin Murgai, Manager of Humanitarian Services at Christian Action, says: “Since 1993, Christian Action has shown relentless commitment to support marginalised migrant women who are at risk of exploitation and abuse. Women migrant workers from all over the world – daughters, sisters, mothers, who have chosen the responsibility to support their families – contribute immensely to the social and economic development of their home countries and also where they work. Today we are here to celebrate their courage and achievements, and to continue raising awareness of the issues surrounding the community, especially those related to exploitation, abuse, and poor living conditions.”

In Hong Kong, majority of women migrants work as domestic workers who perform a variety of work, ranging from household, labour to care services. While essential to the functioning of Hong Kong’s economy, in many cases, the work has been reported to be accompanied by underpayment, difficult working conditions, and insufficient legal support. Women domestic workers, in particular, may be subjected to physical and sexual violence and exploitation at the hands of unscrupulous agencies, recruiters or employers.

Mrs. Nurul Qoiriah, the Head of IOM Sub-Office in Hong Kong SAR said that, “In line with the key theme of today IDW celebration, IOM as the United Nation Migration Agency, would like to express our appreciation and recognition to the vital role of migrant domestic workers for their contribution to the society. Most of these women are the primary breadwinners for their families back home and have made the agonising choice to leave their children and families behind to earn a living abroad. Their remittances generate significant cash revenues back home.”

Ms. Emily Lau, the first female legislator directly elected into the Legislative Council of Hong Kong, said: “I want to thank the foreign domestic workers for their valuable contribution to Hong Kong. I wish to create a win-win situation for foreign domestic workers and their employers, where the workers' rights are respected and the employers treat their workers well and can get the service of trained and responsible workers.”
IOM Hong Kong and Christian Action had the pleasure to have welcomed over 400 people at the event, including migrant workers as well as guests of honour from governments and concerning organisations across Hong Kong, The Philippines, and Indonesia to give their greetings to the audiences. Guests include Ms. H.E. Bernarda L. Catalla, Consul General of the Republic of the Philippines; Mr. Tri Tharyat, Consul General of the Republic of Indonesia; Mr. Sonny W. Manalu, Director of Social Rehabilitation and Victims of Trafficking Protection, Indonesian Ministry of Social Affairs; Ms. Emily Lau Wai-Hing, former Chair of the Democratic Party of Hong Kong; Mr. Lee Cheuk-Yan, General Secretary of the Hong Kong Confederation of Trade Unions; and Ms. Jec Sernande, Secretary of the Progressive Labor Union of Domestic Workers.


Event photos & captions:

IWD2017 1 Ms. Emily Lau Wai-hing, the first directly elected female member of the Legislative Council in Hong Kong, said that she looks forward to creating a win-win situation for employers and migrant domestic workers at the Celebration of International Women's Day 2017. 
IWD2017 2 Mrs. Nurul Qoiriah, Head of Sub-Office, IOM Hong Kong SAR, and Mr. Justin Murgai, Manager of Humanitarian Services at Christian Action, give their support to migrant domestic workers in Hong Kong.
IWD2017 3 Guests and organisers at Celebration of International Women’s Day 2017 (left to right): Mr. Justin Murgai, Manager of Humanitarian Services, Christian Action; Mr. Lee Cheuk-Yan, General Secretary of the Hong Kong Confederation of Trade Unions; Ms. Emily Lau Wai-Hing, former Chair of the Democratic Party of Hong Kong; Mr. Tri Tharyat, Consul General of the Republic of Indonesia; Mr. Sonny W. Manalu, Director of Social Rehabilitation and Victims of Trafficking Protection, Indonesian Ministry of Social Affairs; Ms. H.E. Bernarda L. Catalla, Consul General of the Republic of the Philippines; and Mrs. Nurul Qoiriah, Head of Sub-Office, IOM Hong Kong SAR.
IWD2017 4 Migrant domestic workers in Hong Kong showed their talents at Celebration of International Women's Day 2017.
IWD2017 5 Winning photo of the month-long Women at Work photo competition, featuring all originals submitted by migrant domestic workers. The photo exhibition was held at Celebration of International Women’s Day 2017 today.

慶祝「2017年國際婦女節」
為香港外籍傭工的勇氣和果敢打氣


為紀念2017年國際婦女節,國際移民組織香港特區辦事分處(IOM Hong Kong SAR)和基督教勵行會外籍傭工服務中心於今天(2017年3月12日)舉行慶祝活動,並得到不少特別嘉賓同場支持。

是次活動於基督教勵行會九龍灣總部和服務中心新秀大廈舉行,目的是認同外籍傭工對香港社會的貢獻,以及提倡為正處於弱勢和被剝削的外籍傭工賦予應有權利和保護。活動藉著攝影展和才藝表演,讓香港、菲律賓和印尼的政府代表有機會認識到外籍傭工的藝術才能。

今天活動包括有外籍傭工才藝表演決賽、Women at Work攝影展、文化表演,以及由外傭組織舉辦的遊戲和食物攤位等,目的為展現不同國籍傭工的不同文化特色。

定於每年3月8日的國際婦女節(IWD)是一個全球紀念日,為慶祝婦女在社會、經濟、文化和政治等方面的成就。自1900年初以來,國際婦女節藉著慶祝、反思、倡導和實際行動,倡議性別平等,尤其在工作間。儘管在實現婦女平等和解放方面在各國取得了不少進展和態度轉變,但仍有許多工作要做。

基督教勵行會外籍傭工服務中心經理Justin Murgai說:「自1993年起,基督教勵行會已開始支援被剝削和被虐待的外籍傭工。這些來自不同國家,作為女兒、姊妹或母親的婦女,為養家選擇到別國當外傭──他們對其原住國以及工作地方的社會和經濟發展作出了巨大貢獻。今天,我們在這裡為他們的勇氣和成就打氣,並將繼續為她們發聲,尤其那些被剝削、虐待和處於惡劣生活環境的一群。」

在香港,大多數外傭婦女都是從事家務助理,工作包括日常家務、照顧和護理等。她們對香港經濟發展起了一定作用,但在許多情況下,這些外傭在工作時遇到了不少問題,例如支薪不足、工作環境惡劣和缺乏法律支援等。尤其是婦女家庭傭工,她們可能遭受無良中介公司、招聘者或雇主虐待以及剝削。

IOM香港特區辦事分處主任Mrs. Nurul Qoiriah 說到:「為符合慶祝國際婦女節這主題,IOM作為聯合國移民署,我們對移民家庭傭工這個重要角色衷心表示讚賞和認同她們對社會所作出的貢獻。這些女士在她們的家鄉都是主要的經濟支柱,她們為了到海外工作以養家糊口,都下了拋下兒女家庭的痛苦抉擇,而她們的匯款最終亦為家鄉的家人帶來非常可觀的收入。」

香港首位當選為立法會議員的女性劉慧卿亦有到場支持:「我要感謝外籍家庭傭工對香港作出的寶貴貢獻。我希望為外籍傭工及其雇主創造雙贏局面──傭工權利得到尊重,雇主善待傭工,並獲得經過良好訓練和負責任的家傭服務。」

IOM香港特區辦事分處及基督教勵行會十分高興是次活動有400人士到場參與,包括來自香港、菲律賓和印尼政府以及關注組織的嘉賓,向公眾致祝願詞。其他嘉賓還有菲律賓總領事Ms. H.E. Bernarda L. Catalla、印尼總領事Mr. Tri Tharyat、Social Rehabilitation and Victims of Trafficking Protection 印尼社會事務部部長 Mr. Sonny Manalu、前民主黨主席劉慧卿女士、香港職工會聯合會秘書長李卓仁先生、進步工人聯盟秘書 Ms. Jec Sernande。


活動照片及簡介:

IWD2017 1

劉慧卿曾為香港首位當選為立法會議員的女性,她在慶祝「2017年國際婦女節」活動中表示,期望為僱主和外籍傭工創造雙贏局面。

IWD2017 2

國際移民組織香港特區辦事分處主任Mrs. Nurul Qoiriah與基督教勵行會外籍傭工服務中心經理Justin Murgai同為香港外籍傭工的勇氣和果敢打氣。

IWD2017 3

出席慶祝「2017年國際婦女節」活動主辦單位及嘉賓大合照 : 基督教勵行會外籍傭工服務中心經理Justin Murgai、香港職工會聯合會秘書長李卓仁先生、前民主黨主席劉慧卿女士、印尼總領事Mr. Tri Tharyat、Social Rehabilitation and Victims of Trafficking Protection 印尼社會事務部部長 Mr. Sonny Manalu、菲律賓總領事Ms. H.E. Bernarda L. Catalla和IOM香港特區辦事分處主任Mrs. Nurul Qoiriah。

IWD2017 4

外籍傭工藉著慶祝「2017年國際婦女節」活動盡展才華。

IWD2017 5

Women at Work攝影展得獎作品。初賽為期一個月,所有參加者均為外籍傭工,今天作慶祝「2017年國際婦女節」其中一個活動。