Over 1,000 Appealed to Retain New Horizons Building
Support Christian Action’s Stay,
Maintain Social Welfare in Kowloon East


Since mid-December last year Christian Action (CA) has received over 1,000 signed letters and cards of appeal from service users, corporate clients, partners and staff to appeal for the government’s reconsideration in demolishing New Horizons Building (NHB), CA’s headquarters and main service and training centre for over 30 years. The petition and appeal letters handed to various members the Kwun Tong District Council yesterday (10 January) with one clear goal – to retain NHB so that CA can continue serving the community at large.

The NHB and its neighbouring area are included in Hong Kong government’s redevelopment plan for the Kowloon East district, and the development of land along Wang Chiu Road, where NHB is included, is currently under consultation. Should the development plan be confirmed, this area will be redeveloped for public housing and a new secondary school and consequently, NHB will be demolished and CA will have to move out. Seeing such urgency, CA saw this as a critical time to hand in the petition letter to the Kwun Tong District Council.

NHB has been rented by CA under Short Term Tenancy (STT) as an “O” site (“Open Space” zone) for over 30 years, providing services to vulnerable groups within the community and neighbouring area. According to Executive Director Cheung-Ang Siew Mei, since acknowledging the government’s intention in 2014, CA has been communicating with government parties to find the most appropriate solution with the least disruption on social services. However, little satisfactory progress has been made except for the grant of lease from Labour and Welfare
Bureau two days ago (9 January) to extend CA’s stay at NHB until 30 June next year.

Cheung stated: “To clarify, we are not opposed to public housing development. While we fully recognise the government’s needs in developing public housing, we urge the government to consider fulfilling social service needs within the district – especially for the incoming grassroots community that will come with the new housing development.”

Established in 1985 CA has been a major non-government subvented organisation in Hong Kong providing pioneering social, humanitarian services, education and training for the disadvantaged, benefitting refugees, underprivileged women and children, low-income families, ethnic minorities, new arrivals, and migrant domestic workers. Over 1 million attendances have benefited from CA’s services in 30 years.

As a headquarter, NHB is a pillar for the coordination of CA’s 20 social service and training centres and 5 community sales outlets across Kowloon and New Territories. Opening beyond normal office hours, the services provided at NHB include after-school children care, counselling services and youth programmes, along with community-friendly services such as a community information and cyber centre, public reading area for local grassroots women and elderly, as well as a weekend drop-in and training centre for foreign domestic workers. CA also provides retraining to the underprivileged and unemployed, training up to 23,000 students per year, among which 45% were trained at NHB. Over 60,000 attendances are served at NHB per year.

Over 750 appeal letters received are from CA’s service users, among 500 are from residents of Kowloon East, including Kwun Tong, Kowloon City, and Wong Tai Sin. Ling, a single mother whose daughter is supported by CA’s after-school childcare programme, was one of them. “With my chronic illness I was not able to properly take care of my daughter. Since I cannot work, I felt useless and had a very low self-worth. In our counselling session I was encouraged by CA’s social worker to volunteer and help other mothers like me. I eventually became a long-term volunteer, mainly assisting with picking up children from the after-school programme, managing their class and so forth. The opportunity not only made me feel like I have a purpose, it also improved the relationship with my daughter, whose academic performance was also boosted under the staff’s undivided care. Recently I also signed up for CA’s retraining course and I am confident that, with my improving health, I should be able to contribute back to society as a working mother in no time. I really hope the building can be retained, so CA can continue to provide these services for us.”

Cheung added, “Should NHB be demolished, the disruption of CA’s services will have a tremendous effect on existing service users like Ling and will pose a further impact to the social welfare, leading to more issues such as rising unemployment in the grassroots community. With the petition today we are seeking support from the Kwun Tong District Council and to urge the government to reconsider and allow us to stay, so that we can continue to fill the service gaps for existing and new residents in Kowloon East.”

Event photos & captions:

CAPetition KTDCPhoto1 In order to seek support from Kwun Tong district councillors and to urge government to reconsider the demolition of New Horizons Building, CA representative submitted a petition letter and appeal letters to Dr. Bunny Chan, Chairman of Kwun Tong District Council.
CAPetition KTDCPhoto2CAPetition KTDCPhoto3CAPetition KTDCPhoto4 Various district councillors expressed their support for CA to continue its services for the marginalised in Kwun Tong, further stating that they will urge the government to make a proper decision.
You are here: Home Home Christian Action Uncategorised PR_NHBKTDC201701

14天逾千封意見書要求保留新秀大廈
延續基督教勵行會九龍東服務


去年12月中,基督教勵行會向其服務使用者、企業、合作夥伴和員工收集了逾千封意見書,要求保留其位於九龍灣新秀大廈的總部,昨天(2017年1月10日)該會代表將該批意見書移交觀塘區區議會外,更同時就其訴求——保留新秀大廈總部現址——向觀塘區區議會遞交請願信。

新秀大廈及鄰近地區已列入政府九龍東重建計劃,而最近規劃署就宏照道一帶,即包括新秀大廈地段,進行諮詢。計劃一旦落實,該地段將發展成公共房屋及一所學校校舍,新秀大廈將被拆卸,而基督教勵行會必須遷出,對該會而言,這無疑是其去留的關鍵時刻。

基督教勵行會一直以短期租約形式租用新秀大廈這塊休憩用地(“O” Site),服務該區居民及弱勢群體逾30年。該會總幹事張洪秀美表示,當2014年獲悉政府有意發展新秀大廈地段後,已不斷與政府溝通與磋商以尋求最合適的方案,期望能對該會服務的影響減至最低,但至今成效不大,只於前天(1月9日)收到勞工及福利局通知將新秀大廈原本於今年三月到期的租約延期至明年6月30日。

張洪秀美强調:「我們並不反對興建公屋,並且明白政府有需要發展公共房屋,但我們敦促政府滿足房屋需求之餘,亦須考慮本區社會服務的需要,尤其當更多公屋落成,勢將增加基層居民對社會服務的需要。」

基督教勵行會於1985年成立,是一間沒有政府資助的慈善團體,提供社會服務、人道支援、教育及培訓服務,更曾推出不少先導計劃,服務對象包括弱勢婦女及兒童、基層家庭、新來港人士、少數族裔、難民、外籍傭工等,30多年來服務超過一百萬人次。

作為基督教勵行會總部,新秀大廈讓該會可以帶領20間服務中心及5間二手商店「勵行站」,為九龍和新界各區不同群體提供各類服務。而該會於新秀大廈的服務更不限於辦公時間,例如舉辦展翅青見計劃、課餘託管服務、外籍傭工周末課程、歷奇及全人發展計劃、行業工作坊,提供情緒輔導及其他社區服務,並開放社區數碼中心予附近居民,例如基層婦女及長者。新秀大廈亦為該會主要再培訓中心,提供一系列課程,就觀塘、黃大仙和九龍城區居民的不同需要、能力和興趣,裝備他們,讓他們能重返職場。自1993年以來,有23萬人次接受該會培訓課程,其中45%課程於新秀大廈舉辦。該會還於新秀大廈營運一間二手商店「勵行站」,以合理價格為附近居民提供優質貨品,並為觀塘區居民提供就業機會。整體而言,該會於新秀大廈每年服務逾6萬人次。

基督教勵行會今次所收集到的意見書有超過750封來自該會服務使用者,而其中500封來自九龍東(包括觀塘、九龍城及黃大仙),阿玲便是其中一位。阿玲女兒參與該會於新秀大廈提供的課餘託管服務。因病患不能工作,更未能好好照顧女兒學業及身心發展,阿玲常自覺無用,自我形象低落。該會社工給予其情緒上支援,並鼓勵她做「媽媽義工」,協助接送參與課餘託管的學生,及在課堂上維持秩序。阿玲感激基督教勵行會的幫助:「以前我和女兒常因功課問題爭吵,關係惡劣,現在該會不但改善了女兒的學業進度,更常常安排我倆參與親子義工活動,改善了我們的關係。做義工亦可以幫助我重拾自信,他們還鼓勵我報讀晚間再培訓課程,我有信心當我身體情況好轉,便能重返職場,自力更生。所以我希望政府能保留新秀大廈,讓基督教勵行會可以繼續服務我們。」

張洪秀美感慨說:「若新秀大廈被遷拆,基督教勵行會服務必定受影響,最大受害者將會是如阿玲般的服務使用者,這更可能為社會帶不良後果,例如基層人士失業情況加劇。今天我們遞交請願信,就是希望觀塘區議會能幫我們發聲,向政府爭取保留新秀大廈,讓基督教勵行會能繼續服務九龍東現有及將來的居民。」

相片說明:

CAPetition KTDCPhoto1 為爭取觀塘區議會支持,促請政府重新考慮原址保留基督教勵行會總部新秀大廈,該會派代表向觀塘區區議會主席陳振彬遞交請願信及意見書。
CAPetition KTDCPhoto2CAPetition KTDCPhoto3CAPetition KTDCPhoto4 多位來自不同政黨的觀塘區區議員均表示,支持基督教勵行會繼續為觀塘區弱勢社羣提供服務,並促請政府為該會作更妥善安排。