Christian Action Appeals to Social Welfare Department
To Retain New Horizons Building


To appeal for government’s reconsideration in demolishing New Horizons Building (NHB), headquarters and main service and training centre of Christian Action (CA) for over 30 years, a petition letter was handed to a Social Welfare Department representative today (24 January 2017).

The NHB and nearby area along Wang Chiu Road is included in Hong Kong government’s redevelopment plan for the Kowloon East district. Currently under Planning Department’s consultation, once the plan is confirmed, the area will be redeveloped for public housing and a new secondary school; consequently NHB will be demolished and CA will have to move. To the organisation, this is an undeniably critical time.

On 10 January CA handed in over 1,000 signed appeal letters and cards collected from service users, corporate clients, partners and staff, along with a petition letter, to the Kwun Tong District Council with one clear request: to retain NHB so that CA can continue providing services for the Kowloon East community. During the consultation of the development plan, many district councillors have recognised CA’s 30 years of history in providing social and training services for the Kwun Tong district at the meeting, urging the government to carefully consider its decision on CA’s move.

CA’s Executive Director, Mrs. Cheung-Ang Siew Mei stated, “For over 30 years, CA has dedicated to fill the service gaps, under no recurrent subvention from the government, for the most vulnerable communities that are otherwise neglected by society. The demolition of NHB will cause a major disruption to our social services, where our service users will be the most affected. This may pose a further impact to the social welfare, leading to more issues such as rising unemployment in the grassroots community. With the petition today we urge the government to reconsider retaining NHB, so that we can continue to fill the service gaps for existing and new residents in Kowloon East.”

NHB has been rented by CA under Short Term Tenancy (STT) as an “O” site (“Open Space” zone) for over 30 years. Since acknowledging the government’s intention in 2014, CA has been communicating with government parties to find the most appropriate solution with the least disruption on social services. However, little satisfactory progress has been made except for the recent notice from Labour and Welfare Bureau to extend CA’s lease at NHB from March this year until 30 June 2018.

Cheung added, “To clarify, we are not opposed to public housing development. While we fully recognise the needs in developing public housing, we urge the government to consider fulfilling social service needs within the district – especially for the incoming grassroots community that will come with the new housing development.” CA believes that public housing and secondary school can be built and coexist with NHB in the same area. Along with the petition letter, the organisation submitted a few proposals of site reconfiguration for the Government and concerned parties to consider, so that even with public housing plan in progress, CA can continue its services.

Established in 1985, CA is a non-government subvented organisation providing pioneering social, humanitarian services, education and training for the disadvantaged, benefitting refugees, underprivileged women and children, low-income families, ethnic minorities, new arrivals, and migrant domestic workers. Over 1 million attendances have benefited from CA’s services in 30 years.

As a headquarter, NHB is a pillar for the coordination of CA’s 20 social service and training centres and 5 community sales outlets across Kowloon and New Territories. Opening beyond normal office hours, the services provided at NHB include Youth Employment Training Programme (YETP), after-school children care, weekend training for foreign domestic workers, community services and employment assistance for ethnic minorities, adventure and whole-person development programme, thematic trial workshop, counselling and other community services such as an information and cyber centre open to neighbours, including women and elderly from grassroots community. NHB is also a major retraining centre, providing a spectrum of courses catered for the different needs, abilities and interests of people from Kwun Tong, Wong Tai Sin, and Kowloon City districts, and to equip them to re-enter the work force. 23,000 received training since 1993, among which 45% were trained at NHB. CA also operates an outlet shop at the premise to cycle and sell usable second-hand items with an aim to give nearby residents with more choices of quality items at an affordable price, and also to offer job opportunities for the residents in Kwun Tong. Over 60,000 attendances are served at NHB per year.

Photos & captions:

CA KTSW24012017 1 Photo 1 To gain support from the Kwun Tong District Social Services Committee, Executive Director Cheung-Ang Siew Mei (second-right), representative (second-left) and service users from CA handed in a petition letter to committee chairman, Mr. Cliff Tang.
CA KTSW24012017 2 Photo 2 CA’s Executive Director Cheung-Ang Siew Mei (right) and a CA representative (left) submitted a petition letter to Ms. Grace Chan from Kwun Tong District Social Welfare Office, Social Welfare Department, to appeal for government’s reconsideration in NHB’s demolition, and to allow CA’s continuation of social services for the underprivileged in the Kwun Tong district.
You are here: Home Home Christian Action Uncategorised PR_NHBKTDCSSC201701

保留新秀大廈總部
基督教勵行會向社署遞交請願信


基督教勵行會就保留其九龍灣新秀大廈總部的訴求於今天(2017年1月24日)於觀塘區議會社會服務委員會會議上向社會福利署代表遞交請願信。

基督教勵行會總部新秀大廈及鄰近宏照道一帶地區已列入政府九龍東重建計劃,而規劃署現正為計劃進行諮詢。計劃一旦落實,此地段將發展成公共房屋及一所中學校舍,新秀大廈將被拆卸,而基督教勵行會必須遷出,對該會而言,這無疑是其去留的關鍵時刻。

該會於本月10日已向觀塘區議會遞交請願信及轉交逾千封從服務使用者、企業、合作夥伴和員工收集的意見書,以表達其「保留新秀大廈,延續九龍東服務」的訴求。當天觀塘區議會大會上就討論宏照道一帶的發展規劃時,基督教勵行會得到十多位區議員在與會中表示認同其於觀塘區30多年來的培訓及社會服務,並促請政府盡快解決其安置問題,讓該會能繼續服務九龍東。

基督教勵行會總幹事張洪秀美表示:「基督教勵行會30多年來,開創了不少服務支援社會上被忽略和最弱勢的一群,填補社會服務的不足。我們多年來都是自負盈虧,沒有政府直接資助,若新秀大廈被遷拆,我們的服務必定受影響,最大受害者將會是服務使用者,這更可能為社會帶不良後果,如基層人士失業情況加劇等種種民生問題。今天我們遞交請願信,就是向政府爭取保留新秀大廈,讓基督教勵行會能繼續服務九龍東現有及將來的居民。」

基督教勵行會一直以短期租約形式租用新秀大廈這塊休憩用地(“O” Site),服務該區居民及弱勢群體逾30年。當2014年獲悉政府有意發展新秀大廈地段後,該會已不斷與政府溝通及磋商以尋求最合適的方案,期望能對該會服務的影響減至最低,但至今成效不大,只於最近收到勞工及福利局通知將新秀大廈原本於今年三月到期的租約延期至明年6月30日。

張洪秀美强調:「我們並不反對興建公屋,並且明白政府有需要發展公共房屋,但我們敦促政府滿足房屋需求之餘,亦須考慮本區社會服務的需要,尤其當更多公屋落成,基層居民對社會服務勢將增加的需求。」該會相信公屋、中學和其新秀大廈總部可以共存,因此,在請願信中提出了數個發展方案,供政府和相關界別考慮──即使推行建屋計劃,基督教勵行會的服務仍可繼續運作。

基督教勵行會於1985年成立,是一間沒有政府資助的慈善團體,提供社會服務、人道支援、教育及培訓服務,更曾推出不少先導計劃,服務對象包括弱勢婦女及兒童、基層家庭、新來港人士、少數族裔、難民、外籍傭工等,30多年來服務超過一百萬人次。

作為基督教勵行會總部,新秀大廈讓該會可以帶領20間服務中心及5間二手商店「勵行站」,為九龍和新界各區不同群體提供各類服務。而該會於新秀大廈的服務更不限於辦公時間,例如舉辦展翅青見計劃、課餘託管服務、外籍傭工周末課程、少數族裔社區及就業支援服務、歷奇及全人發展計劃、行業工作坊,提供情緒輔導及其他社區服務,並開放社區數碼中心予附近居民,例如基層婦女及長者。新秀大廈亦為該會主要再培訓中心,提供一系列課程,就觀塘、黃大仙和九龍城區居民的不同需要、能力和興趣,裝備他們,讓他們能重返職場。自1993年以來,有23萬人次接受該會培訓課程,其中45%課程於新秀大廈舉辦。該會還於新秀大廈營運一間二手商店「勵行站」,以合理價格為附近居民提供優質貨品,並為觀塘區居民提供就業機會。整體而言,該會於新秀大廈每年服務逾6萬人次。

相片說明:

CA KTSW24012017 1 Photo 1 基督教勵行會總幹事張洪秀美(右二)、該會社會服務代表(左二),以及服務使用者向觀塘區議會社會服務委員會主席鄧咏駿議員遞交請願信,期望委員會為他們發聲,促請政府為該會安置問題作妥善安排。
CA KTSW24012017 2 Photo 2 基督教勵行會總幹事張洪秀美(右)及該會社會服務代表(左)向社會福利署觀塘區福利辦事處代表陳婉貞女士遞交請願信,促請政府重新考慮原址保留總部新秀大廈,讓該會繼續為觀塘區弱勢社羣提供服務。
您目前位置:首頁 首頁 基督教勵行會 Uncategorised PR_NHBKTDCSSC201701